When you rent out a property in Roseville, you need to treat it like a business. This requires you to be educated, organized, and proactive. Knowing the California landlord and tenant laws is critical, because even the smallest mistake can get you in trouble and put your property in jeopardy. There’s a lot you need to know, and today we’re highlighting the three most important questions landlords like you have to be able to answer.
Security Deposit Timelines
Do you know the required time period for returning a security deposit? This area triggers the most conflict between landlords and tenants. According to California law, you need to send the security deposit or an itemized statement of deductions back to the tenant within 21 days of move-out. This is not optional or flexible. You must adhere to the timeline. If the tenant takes you to court because it took you too long to send the deposit back or because you deducted for things you shouldn’t have, you’ll be required to refund the full deposit and pay extra because of your mistake. That’s a costly error.
Terminating a Tenancy
Do you know how much notice you’re required to give a tenant when you want to terminate a tenancy? When tenants are living in your property on a month-to-month basis, and they have been for more than a year, you need to provide a 60 day notice to the tenants, and it needs to be in writing. You don’t need to explain why you’re terminating the tenancy unless you’re in a rent control area and you need to provide just cause. If your tenants are in a subsidized housing program, you might also have limited reasons for removing a tenant. Make sure you’re terminating for a lawful reason.
Notice Before Entering Property
How much notice do you need to provide a tenant before you enter the property? You cannot just show up and take a look around. California requires you to provide 24 hours of notice, in writing, before you enter a unit. You must get permission as well. If the tenant refuses to let you in, you cannot go anyway. You do not need to provide written notice if there’s an emergency at the property, the tenant has abandoned the property, or the tenant is at home and consents to letting you in. If you have scheduled repairs or maintenance with the tenant, you are also permitted to enter in less than 24 hours.
Avoid mistakes and make sure you know how to handle these situations. If you have any questions about property management in Roseville, please contact us at Sunburst Properties. We offer professional property management in Roseville, Citrus Heights, Folsom, Rocklin, Granite Bay, Sacramento and the surrounding areas.